Names of parts used in a desktop computer

A desktop computer is typically composed of several different parts, including:

  1. Central Processing Unit (CPU) – The “brain” of the computer that processes data and runs software programs.
  2. Motherboard – The main circuit board that connects all other components of the computer.
  3. Random Access Memory (RAM) – A type of volatile memory that stores data temporarily while a computer is running.
  4. Hard Disk Drive (HDD) or Solid State Drive (SSD) – A storage device that holds the computer’s operating system, software programs, and user data.
  5. Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) – A specialized processor that handles tasks related to graphics and visual data.
  6. Power Supply Unit (PSU) – A component that supplies power to the other components of the computer.
  7. Optical Drive (CD/DVD) – A drive that reads and writes data from optical discs such as CDs and DVDs.
  8. Expansion Cards – Cards that can be added to the motherboard to expand the computer’s capabilities, such as a sound card or network card.
  9. Peripherals – External devices that can be connected to the computer, such as a keyboard, mouse, printer, and monitor.
  10. Cables and Wires – Used to connect the various components of the computer and peripherals together.
  1. Central Processing Unit (CPU)
  2. Motherboard
  3. Random Access Memory (RAM)
  4. Hard Disk Drive (HDD) or Solid State Drive (SSD)
  5. Graphics Processing Unit (GPU)
  6. Power Supply Unit (PSU)
  7. Optical Drive (CD/DVD)
  8. Expansion Cards (Sound, Ethernet, etc)
  9. Case and Chassis
  10. Keyboard and Mouse
  11. Monitor
  12. Cooling Fans and Heatsinks
  13. Cables and Connectors (SATA, Power, USB, etc)
  14. Operating System (Windows, MacOS, Linux, etc)
  15. Speakers and Sound Card.